Shoshoni Mountain Ashram

10 Sep

Temple-Rainbow-2I don’t expect to ever fully articulate the experience of my Level II and Level III Yoga Teacher Trainings at Shoshoni Mountain Ashram in Rollinsville, CO.   Living for two weeks at a place where all moments of the day are devoted to the practice of yoga was deeply transformative for me, and I grew so much in those weeks.

The energy of this place blew me away!  I was operating on less sleep and less food than I normally do–waking up at 4:30 to shower and meditate, and often not going to bed until 10 or later (I couldn’t put down Seat by the Fire by Sri Shambhavananda)–yet I felt fully energized and awake throughout the days of training.  The trainings were extensive and well-organized, structured in a balanced way so that we had time to rest and absorb between Anatomy, Asana, Philosophy, Pranayama, Meditation, Chanting, and Practice Teaching.

My Level II training covered the shoulder girdle & upper extremities, focusing on more advanced yoga postures such as arm balances.  Level III covered the hips and lower extremities, covering deep hip opening, strengthening and stabilizing.  Both trainings offered new meditation and pranayama teachings, which I found to be profoundly deep and I am so excited to share with my yoga community.

DSC_0162Shoshoni is exceptional because these ancient teachings are made accessible by and connected to a living guru and lineage teachers whose practices go back many, many generations.  I feel so deeply fortunate to have been able to make a connection with the Shambhava lineage during my stay.

I grew in ways I can’t articulate.  I have emerged with a deeper, more committed practice, which will enhance my teaching of yoga in many ways.  I am so excited to be practicing meditation daily, and feel balanced and rooted from this new practice.  We did a lot of kirtan & chanting throughout the trainings, and I have found these practices to be very effective in eliminating negativity and balancing me on all levels.  I encourage everyone to explore this practice!  If you are interested, Deva Premal & Mitten are offering a free 21-day Mantra Meditation, and you can sign up for a daily mantra recording right to your e-mail inbox (starts today, but you can join in any time).

The dedicated staff were friendly and warmly welcoming.  Being surrounded by people whose lives are dedicated to spiritual practice was so inspiring!  They were so willing to answer questions as they arose for me and I enjoyed sharing my experience with them.  I am already looking forward to my next training at Shoshoni!  I also made some beautiful yoga-teacher friendships in my trainings and there is even discussion of collaborating on offering a Yoga Retreat in the future.  I’ll keep you posted!

I have so much gratitude for all of you who made this possible for me!  It was absolutely not feasible for me to take this trip without the support of my community–your attendance at my yoga classes helped pay my way, and the generous, heartfelt donations gifted to me from many were a tremendous gift.  I am so deeply grateful to each of you, and I am so excited to share these new teachings with you (classes in the Hayloft start again September 17th)!

Oh, and here’s the official certification!  I’m now a 320-Level Yoga Alliance Certified Intermediate Yoga Instructor!  Horray!  Only 180 training hours left until I am certified at the highest level through Yoga Alliance.  Not that anybody’s counting!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In deep gratitude.  Namaste.

~*~

RETREAT!

I also wanted to offer a word on retreating.  Unplugging and staying in a beautiful mountain setting is far more than restorative.  Dedicating a segment of time toward your growth as a yogi is deeply gratifying, and Shoshoni is an incredible place to do it.  One amazing aspect of Shoshoni is that these teachings are connected to a living guru, Sri Shambhavananda.  The chance to connect with Babaji and the lineage teachers is a great privilege!  Shoshoni offers many amenities, and the foundation of yoga offerings throughout the day (from Ayurvedic food, to meditation and pranayama, to chanting and Kirtan, to multiple yoga classes daily, to spa treatments, sauna, hot tub, kayaking and hikes) is one of the most precious gifts you can give to yourself!  If you’re looking to retreat (or even just catch one yoga class), this is the place to go!

ATTEND A SHAMBHAVA-TRAINED YOGA INSTRUCTOR’S CLASS!

I met some fantastic yoginis during my training, and I want to share them with you!

Dolma

Dolma

My dear friend and fellow yoga instructor, Dolma (Judy), lives and teaches multiple levels of yoga in Astoria, Oregon.  If you are ever in the neighborhood, be sure to drop into her beautiful studio, Lotus Yoga, for a class!  She and I have been discussing the possibility of offering a retreat sometime in 2014.  Stay tuned!

If you find yourself in the midwest … in Marquette, Michigan to be exact, be sure to look up Liz Dirkse, a very sweet yoga instructor who teaches at a number of studios there (Marquette Yoga Center, Revive, and at Northern Michigan University.

Whole Yoga in Denver, CO is where you can find Alison Theriot, another of my sweet yoga instructor colleagues, along with other Shoshoni-trained instructors.  I’ve never been there myself, but I have heard all good things!  One of the owners is a Physical Therapist … inspiration for my dream!

Check out Jaclyn’s Gentle Yoga classes at Pranava Yoga in Colorado Springs.

And as soon as she lands, I’ll let you know where our sweet Jen is teaching.

~*~

7 Responses to “Shoshoni Mountain Ashram”

  1. janadawson September 11, 2013 at 6:51 am #

    Even after just a 3 day yoga retreat I felt like pure love on legs. I can’t even imagine the bliss after two weeks! I love reading about your experiences dear sweet friend.

    Like

    • Jessie September 11, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

      Jana it is a deeper bliss than I’ve ever experienced! Love you back, and I love reading about you too!!! XOXO

      Like

  2. Jessie September 11, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    Reblogged this on Horseback Yoga.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Home from Colorado | YogAscent: Heighten Your Practice - September 12, 2013

    […] first two weeks of my time in Colorado were at Shoshoni Mountain Ashram, a very special, very unique and beautiful yoga retreat & spiritual center in the Indian Peaks […]

    Like

  2. Hayloft Yoga: Compassion | Horseback Yoga - September 17, 2013

    […] nothing some conscious breathing and active poses can’t warm us through.  I noticed, after having been out of state for a month, the incredible impact the horses have on our practice of yoga.  In the hayloft, we can gaze down […]

    Like

  3. 2013 Highlights | Jessie Tierney - December 26, 2013

    […] paid vacation (thank you dearly, Sedro Woolley PT!) and the second time for a transformational Yoga Teacher Training and visit with Mom & Dad.  Both visits were deeply healing and wonderful!  CO and WA are my […]

    Like

  4. Promise | Jessie Tierney - June 30, 2014

    […] Sacred places and beautiful spaces host these symbols of promise. […]

    Like

Join the discussion!

