Home from Colorado

12 Sep

I’m home from my incredible month-long yoga retreat in Colorado, and I can’t wait to see my community and share all that I have learned on this amazing trip!

Jessie-Profile

The first two weeks of my time in Colorful Colorado passed at Shoshoni Mountain Ashram, a very special, unique and beautiful yoga retreat & spiritual center in the Indian Peaks area, just outside Boulder. Throughout these two weeks, I was engaged in yoga practice from early morning until the evening.

Shoshoni Temple

Shoshoni Temple

What a transformational time this was for me.  There is nothing like being steeped in practice, surrounded by the spiritual energy of those who have dedicated their lives to yoga, in the breathtaking Colorado mountains.  I wrote more about the experience here.  I encourage everyone to treat themselves to any length of time at Shoshoni.  It is a life-changing place.

After my two-week yoga teacher training, Nathan came out to Colorado to adventure with me.  We took our practice into the high mountains and climbed South Arapaho Peak, explored Peaceful Valley, and spent a glorious afternoon at Chasm Lake at the base of Longs Peak.  The sense of awe and wonder was high and constant throughout our entire time together.  It was deeply healing and inspiring.

Yoga with Dad

Yoga with Dad, Royal Gorge

I was able to spend the last week with my sweet parents in their picturesque log cabin in the Wet Mountains San Isabel National Forest, with a breathtaking view of the Sangre De Cristo mountain range.  It felt like my retreat was extended … I cooked dinners, we explored the land, and rested and relaxed together.  It was truly beautiful, and I feel so fortunate to have been able to spend this time with my Mom and Dad!  I even got my Dad to do some yoga with me, which was a very special treat!  He is recovering from a partial knee replacement (with flying colors–horray Dad!) and is just getting a taste of his new-found mobility … I am so proud of him!  Our adventures were restorative and I feel that I grew closer to my parents throughout the trip.  What a gift!

Here are a selection of yoga photos from all over the state of Colorado!  Nathan and I had so much fun exploring (and re-discovering) where we both consider our Spiritual Birthplace … yoga was certainly a theme for my trip–it is a theme for my entire life!

I am so grateful for my month-long retreat to Colorado!  I look forward to sharing the fruits of my Teacher Training with you all!

Namaste.

One Response to “Home from Colorado”

  1. Jessie September 9, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    Reblogged this on Jessie Tierney and commented:

    Yoga in Colorado!

    Like

Join the discussion!

