Postures & Pictures

12 Dec

Outwardly expressive and deeply introspective …  I’ll take both!

Photographer

People who have grown up with me know that I have a deep love of photography ~ between grade school (when I got my first camera) and high school, I filled over 40 photo albums with my snapshots; I can think of nothing more delightful than sitting to look through your family photos all day long; I could go on about this …  I also have a deep love of the aesthetics and symbolism of the human form, so yoga photography is something I am naturally obsessed with.

At the same time, I recognize that photography can only scratch the surface of bringing to light the full experience of yoga.  Most often, yoga photography focuses on the more dramatic, physical aspects of yoga ~ the aspects of yoga that we can see, hence can be expressed well through the visual art of photography.  These physical postures are obviously photogenetic and impressive, but can be misleading.  Why do people think “Oh, I’m not flexible/thin/healthy/calm/(fill in the blank) enough to do yoga” ? … perhaps because culturally, we are inundated by photos of slender, extremely flexible, athletic, photoshopped women doing advanced yoga postures and we think that’s what yoga is about.

It’s not.

I find it exciting to know about organizations, blogs and articles that try to debunk these wrong perceptions of yoga and body image, such as this Fat Yoga studio and this one and body positive yoga and sweet posts like “I like my body because it’s magic” and MsFit Magazine and The Body Positive and BeYOUtiful People and this one is for the fellas and this youtube video and this post by a Cowgirl Yogini and so many more (if you know of more, by all means, post them below as a comment and I will add them to the list!).

Yoga is so much deeper than what any photo, or even the most eloquent words, can convey, and that is what makes it so powerful and life-transforming.  Thankfully!

And yet I still love to play with yoga photos and photography, and I still try to convey the beauty and power of yoga with words, (and have recently explored doing this with video, too).  In full knowledge that I will never succeed at doing so, that the quest to express the wholeness of yoga is an eternal, lifetimes-long practice.  Just like yoga itself.

So in the spirit of love for bodies art, and yoga, I hope you enjoy some photographs of yoga asanas, below (mostly taken by Nathan, of me).  I would love to add to this collection, so please share yours with me, too (you can e-mail them to me ore share them with me on Facebook, and I’ll post them in the future)!

Vrksasana-1~

Utthita_Sukhasana~Eka_Pada_Kapotasana~

Natarajasana~

Vrksasana_tree~

Om shanti shanti shanti.

~

2 Responses to “Postures & Pictures”

  1. Jessie December 13, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

    Wow, I just discovered Tim Flach, and his photography (click on EQUUS and MORE THAN HUMAN) is so incredible! Check it out: http://www.timflach.com

    Like

  2. Jessie December 13, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

    Robert Sturman is one of my fave yoga photographers: http://robertsturmanstudio.com

    Like

Join the discussion!

