3 Uplifting Films

28 Dec

Winter is a beautiful time for slowing down, taking this season for introspection and reflection.  For me, this often means revisiting my past year and re-establishing my life’s intention.  Sometimes, though, winter can feel like a time of stagnation.  I’d like to offer three options for you, if it’s dark and dreary and you just don’t want to leave the house.

Yoga-In-Snow

I’ve seen 3 documentaries recently that I found to be positively uplifting and inspiring ~ solutions-based ideas for our dynamic world.  They’re just the right medicine for a dreary day.  Do a few warming sun salutations, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

Oh!  If you’re like me and can’t quite swallow the idea of a movie without popcorn, here’s a recipe to at least do it the Ayurvedic way, from Eden Ayruveda.

In a hot fry pan add spices in this order, toasting each a few seconds before adding the next. I like to toast the spices in whole form and then grind them all together.

  • 1 tsp black pepper corn
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp ajwain
  • 2 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1/2 tsp hing

When they have all released their fragrances grind them in a mortar and pestle or food processor and add:

  • 1 tsp amchur powder (dried green mango—you might also try ground pomegranate seeds or sumac?)
  • 1 tsp unrefined sugar
  • 1 tsp saindouv or Himalayan salt

Sprinkle over popcorn freshly popped in ghee!

~ Eden Ayruveda

Once you’ve got your popcorn ready, light a candle (I prefer 100% beeswax tealights from Quiet Light candles!), coze in and enjoy:

Movie #1: The Spirit of Good

A short-but-sweet preview of a full-length to come about the inspiring Mycologist Paul Stamets, who is perhaps most famous for his Ted Talk “Six Ways Mushrooms Can Save the World.”  This film, by Louie Schwartzberg (whose other works are well worth checking out, here), is a brief call to action paired with incredible time-lapse cinematography.

 

Movie #2: Dirt!  The Movie

I thought the same thing when I first saw this come across my Netflix “recommended for you” cue.  A documentary … about dirt?  But trust me, the inspirational, timely, motivating visionaries and voices in this film can change your life!  And it’s so beautifully well-done.  Give it a try!  Here’s the trailer below, and you can rent it or find it on a variety of online video rentals.

 

Movie #3: I Am ~ the shift is about to hit the fan

There are tons and tons of docs you can find about the problems humanity faces in this time of overpopulation, climate change, species loss, food shortage and more.  I love this film because director Tom Shadyac (yeah, the guy who did movies like Ace Ventura Pet Detective and Bruce Almighty) approaches the world’s spiritual and intellectual leaders to ask about solutions.  The film ended and I felt uplifted and ready to make a difference.  I think you will too.  Great part: you can watch it on Hulu, for free!  Below is the trailer.

 

Movie #4 : YogaWoman ~ the film

I know I said three films, but I had to include this one, too.  It’s affirming and sweet, and just might inspire you to roll out your mat and get moving!  A history of yoga’s evolution and women in the west.

 

 
Add in a few yoga postures between scenes, or you could try watching in Upavistha Konasana!

Let me know what you think!

Namaste.

2 Responses to “3 Uplifting Films”

  1. Hadea December 28, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

    I love this list! I want to see them all! ❤ Thank you!

    Like

    • Jessie December 28, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

      I know you’ll love ’em! I look forward to the day when I’m watching a documentary about you, Miss Hadea, and the incredible wellness community you’re creating.

      Like

Join the discussion!

